Club News by Karin Kirk


The club was very pleased to see so many club juniors, representing their schools in Warwickshire and Coventry, achieve great results. The full results are on the schools website

The event held on the Beaulieu Estate, New Forest, filmed by BBC Southern, was attended by 320 school pupils from around the UK, over 70 of whom are either members of OD or attend schools in our area and receive coaching and support from the club.

King Henry VIII School won the Lower Secondary Girls class and Kenilworth School and Sports College the Upper Secondary Girls class. There were many other fine performances and congratulations are due to the individual winners: Aoife Anson-O’Connell Yr 5, Ella Rose McCartney Yr 7, Jamie Nicolson Yr 7, Zoe Nicolson Yr 9, Harrison McCartney Y9, Julie Emmerson Yr 10/11 and Hamish Rogers Yr 10/11.

12th October 2011


Seventeen Octavian Droobers members are to be congratulated having achieved Championship standard in the 7 major events of 2011. OD was once again the top performing British club just ahead of South Yorkshire’s tally of 16 members. Matt Elkington M16 and Mike Hampton M65 were the club’s outstanding performers gaining championship standard in 6 out of the 7 events.

Good runs this weekend by Sheila Carey W65 and Lesley Ross W45 representing England in the Veteran Home International Competition at Birsemore Scotland helped England to victory 139 points ahead of Scotland’s 136.

League events around the midlands attracted several club members and Mike Hampton M65 won the Green 4.1k course in 48.22mins only 2 seconds ahead of Gerry Spalton M70 at the West Midlands event near Leek, Staffordshire. At Outwoods, Leicestershire Harrison McCartney came 1st on the Blue 6k 190m climb course in 42.05mins.

At the Pickering, Yorkshire, selection for Interland event, juniors Julie Emmerson W16 came 1st on the Green course in 49.21mins and Rachel Emmerson 2nd in 53.48mins. At the same venue Robert Gardner M20 came 3rd in the Future Champions Cup competition.

11th October 2011