Octavian Droobers banner

Club News by Karin Kirk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


This year the BOC2017 individual and relay championships took place, in the Lake District, at High Dam high above Lake Windermere. In glorious sunshine, 44 Octavian Droobers competed in the races in age classes from 12 up to 75 years. The terrain was technical with steep slopes, rocky in places, with cliffs and marshes to navigate around and through, and the scenery spectacular. The tough longish courses produced some fine running by club members.

Congratulations to Hilary Simpson running on the W75 championship 3.7km course with 150 metres of climb, who came 1st in 89.45mins. Sheila Carey was 3rd W70 on the 4.3km course with 165 metres of climb taking 69.56mins. Top ten places gained by club members on the championships courses for their age group were:

4th William Gardner (113.51mins) and 10th Duncan Birtwistle (120.54mins) on the M21 Elite 14.9km longest course with 710 metres of climb. 5th place for Harrison McCartney on the M20 Elite 9.9km course with 500 metres of climb, taking 82.15mins. Club Captain Alistair Powell was 8th on the M35 10km course with 510 metres of climb in 115.04mins. Alistair Landels was 7th placed M45 on the 8.2km course taking 82.57mins. On the Womens W21 Elite 9.4km course with 505 metres of climb Julie Emmerson was 6th in 92.05mins and Kirsten Strain 7th in 102.04mins. Anne Straube was 8th and Juliette Soulard 10th on the W40 6.6km course taking 76.07mins and 87.21mins respectively. On the W50 5.8km course with 310 metres of climb Lesley Ross was placed 4th finding 17 controls in 66.01mins only 5mins behind the leader.     

Several top places were achieved by club runners in their age class on the short courses: Thelma Spalton W65 was 1st on the 3.7km course in 92.59mins, Mykyta Chubynsky was 2nd M40 taking 103.59mins on the 6.3km course, Paul Gregson was 3rd on the M35 6.3km course in 103.40mins, Kevin Ross M50 9th in 91.24mins on the 5.8km course. 7-year-old Adam Landels was 10th on the White 1.7km course taking 25.30mins.

The Relays were held close by in Finsthwaite and OD’s Mens Short team of Robert Gardner, Alistair Landels and Alistair Powell were declared winners with a time of 84.29mins 6 minutes ahead of nearest rivals. Lesley Ross, Juliet Soulard and Anne Straube also gained a podium place with a 2nd place in the W40 category. In the Mens Premier race Duncan Birtwistle, Mateusz Podsiadly and Will Gardner were 4th with a time of 121.52mins, 6 minutes behind winners and in the Womens Premier race Julie Emmerson, Rachel Emmerson and Kirsten Strain were also 4th in 129.17mins. Pete Carey, Karin Kirk and Sheila Carey were 4th in the Men and Womens 70 class and Barry Elkington, Richard Gardner and Bruce Bryant were 6th in the M60 class.   

Congratulations to Anne Straube took part in the Trail O championship and was 3rd in the Elite event scoring 17 points and to Mykyta Chubynsky who was 1st in the Standard event with 10 points.

9th May 2017



Results from Royston Town Urban Race

This weekend there was a race around Royston Town, North Hertfordshire, organised by. West Anglian Orienteering Club. Two OD club members won their age classes on the hilly courses: Nadine Wright W21 won the Women's Open 6.8km course with 135 metres of climb in 63.32mins and Sheila Carey W70 was 1st on the Women's Ultra Vet 4.2km course with 70 metres of climb in 43.30mins.
Liz Phillips W50 was 3rd in 67.54mins on the Women's Vet 6.4km course with 100 metres of climb. On the Men's Super Vet 6.4km course Mike Snell M60 was 8th in 60.16mins. Three OD club members were in the top ten on the Men's Ultra Vet 5.1km course, Mike Hampton M70 5th in 52.59mins, Bruce Bryant M60 7th in 54.38mins and Pete Carey M70 9th in 55.42mins.

27th April 2017