Octavian Droobers banner

Club News by Karin Kirk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Caddihoe Chase and Lancaster Urban and Sprint Race Results

Sarum Orienteers organised the annual Caddihoe Chase weekend in Wiltshire at Perham Down on Day 1 on the colour coded courses: Peter Carey M70 won the Green 4.2km course with 100 metres of climb in 44.26mins. Sheila Carey was 1st on the Short Green 3.8km course with 100 metres of climb taking 38.09mins to find 11 controls. On the Short Brown 7.1km course Mykyta Chubynsky M40 was 8th in 69.34mins. Carolyn Marr was 3rd on the Very Short Green 3.1km course in 57.53mins. In the age class courses: Dave Marr M65 was 7th in his age class on the 5.2km in 49.52mins. Anne Straube was 1st on the W40 age class 6.2km course in 52.24mins.

Day 2, a chasing start, saw Peter Carey placed 2nd but he maintained his 1st position with an overall combined time of 95.48mins, 8 mins ahead of nearest competitors. Sheila Carey did the double and was 1st on Day 2 also, with an overall time of 53.32mins. Mykyta Chubynsky ended up 3rd overall with a total time of 176.39mins. Carolyn Marr advanced to 3rd place overall after completing Day 2 in 5th position. Dave Marr advanced his position to 5th place by finishing 2nd on Day 2 with in a combined time of 104.58mins.

Lancaster University Sprint and Urban City weekend attracted many orienteers. At the University Sprint Championships Liz Phillips was placed 7th overall with an 8th place in the A Sprint and 7th in Sprint B. At the Urban city race Bruce Bryant M60 was 6th in the Ultravet Men 5.1km race taking 46.32mins and Mike Hampton M70 was 10th in 49.55mins. Liz Phillips W50 was 7th Veteran Woman on the 5.9km race in 61.13mins.

Other results: in Suffolk at Ickworth Park, Roman Kotecky M70 was 9th on the 4.8km Green course in 54.02mins.

24th Sept 2018

London City and Cirencester Urban Races

The eagerly awaited annual London City race part of the European City tour took place around Bermondsey, South Bank and by the Thames, taking in many London landmarks. The Saturday race also formed part of a triple events weekend with races on Friday around Rotherhithe in the evening and on Sunday around Bloomsbury Parks and Streets.

There were nearly 1000 entries, from all over Europe, and competitors of all ages enjoyed the many challenges, finding the best routes through streets, across bridges, and navigated around markets, tourists, football fans and sponsored walkers.

Duncan Birtwistle M21 was the winner of the Mens Open 4.2km Rotherhithe urban middle distance race taking 32.42mins. Bruce Bryant M60 was 5th on the 3.4kms Men’s Super Vet race in 30 mins and Liz Phillips W50 was also 5th in 34.44min on the Women’s Vet 3.4km course.

The London City Race on Saturday saw Sophie Kirk W21 earn 4th place in the Women’s Elite 7.22km course with a time of 54.45mins. Alfie Bullus M18 was also 4th on the Men under 21 class with a time of 54.31mins on the 7.44km course as was Nadine Wright W21 on the Women’s Open 4.38km course in 37.34mins.

Sophie Kirk W21 was 2nd in the Womens’ Elite 4.05km race taking 33.18mins at Sunday’s Bloomsbury event, Karin Kirk was 2nd W70 on the Women’s Ultra Vet 1.875km course in 21.51mins and Liz Phillips was 5th W50 on the Women’s Vet 3.325km course in 31.07mins.

The Cirencester Urban race was organised by North Wiltshire Orienteering Club. Sheila Carey W70 was 1st on the 3.7km course for W65 plus age class in 38.42mins. Club Chairman, Barry Elkington M60, had a good run and came 2nd on the 5km course for Super Vet Men 55 plus in 37.03mins. On the Ultra Vet Men M65 plus course Keith Willdig was 6th, Peter Carey 7th and Mike Hampton 10th. Margaret Willdig was 6th on the Super Vet Women W55 plus 4.2km course taking 41 mins.

18th Sept 2018