Octavian Droobers banner

Club News by Karin Kirk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


The massive turnout of club members to the annual New Year’s Day score orienteering event held in North Staffordshire, near Kidsgrove, ensured the club retained the Laurie Bradley Trophy. The trophy is awarded to the best West Midlands club and in addition two trophies were presented to the best 18 years and under juniors, both from Octavian Droobers - Matt Elkington M18 and Julie Emmerson.

The event, organised by POTOC the Potteries Orienteering Club, was based at Kidsgrove Cricket club and the course was run over Bathpool Country Park and Birchenwood. 160 competitors all started at the 12 noon mass start and using the map with 33 controls depicted attempted to visit as many as possible within the 60 minute time limit. 10 points were awarded for each control visited and 7 penalty points deducted for each minute over the time limit. Twenty five top scoring OD Club members amassed an amazing 5058 points well ahead of Wrekin Orienteers on 3608. Top senior scorers for the club were Matt Halliday M21 with 299 points for the men and Jane Halliday W50 210 points for the women.

On 27 December Richard Gardner staged the annual Christmas 4 leg relays at Rough Close near Coventry and 21 teams competed. Sharing the legs juniors Harrison McCartney and Julie Emmerson won the handicap team prize and the fastest times were achieved by brothers Robert and Ali Gardner. Chris McCartney ran all 4 legs of the relay and won the solo prize.


An OD junior and Andy Emmerson with New Years Day Trophies

3rd January 2012


After 10 events held around the West Midlands during the year Octavian Droobers Orienteering Club topped the league with 7088 points. Six clubs battled it out and nearest rival Harlequins Orienteering Club scored 6657 points with Walton Chasers third on 5982.

Congratulations to the top 15 club members, who contributed points to secure the win, go to Stephen Elkington M14 who scored a maximum 500 points, 100 from each of 5 events, Barry Elkington M55 and Anne Straube W35 who both scored 499 points and Bob Brandon M60 and Lesley Ross W45 498 points. Sheila Carey W65 scored 495, Pete Carey M65 and Alan Segar M35 both scored 483, Jane Richardson W60 478, Hilary Simpson W70 474, Alfie Bullus M12 460, John Wright M70 446, Sue Bicknell W65 444 and Alan Halliday M55 411.

Club Captain Andy Emmerson hopes the club gets off to a good start to 2012 at the annual West Midlands New Year’s Day Laurie Bradley Trophy 60 minute score event which takes place at Bathpool Country Park near Kidsgrove, Staffordshire. Octavian Droobers are holders of this trophy and the TSB Trophy which is awarded to the best junior performance on the day.

20th December 2011